Both inputs on at the same scan...?

yairtzur

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to all that PLC stuff.
I wonder how I can check wether 2 inputs just became positive.
For example, I/0 AND I/1 are on in the same scan.
I want to check if they became on this scan and power an output as long as they're both still on.
But, if one of them is on without the other, or they're both on but didn't do this in the same scan, I don't want to power that output.
I hope my explanation is clear enough. If not, I will try again.

Thanks,
Yair.

There is more than a single "scan" involved. The I/O status is typically serviced as part of the PLC's overall logic solving sweep, but Remote I/O updates the CPU's I/O image table asynchronously from the program sweep. Then there is filter time associated with the input points themselves at the module level. If you are attempting to detect very quickly changing input status, then the typical PLC is probably not fast enough for your application.

Even a 1/10 of a second is ok for me.
What I want exactly is this:
I have 2 sensors. If one turns on and then the other (with difference of, say, a second) it's fine with me.
If both of them turn on at the same time (or with 0.1 sec, so be it) i want it to activate an output (alarm, for example).
That alarm should stay on as long as both of the sensors are still on. when one turns back off, that's fine with me (and the other one can again turn on).
When they both turn off - I want to check again wether they turn on simultaneously or one after the other (or not at all).

I'm a real newbie with PLCs so I want to get the idea and practice my applications before actually spending money and wasting time with the real deal.

Thanks!

Something like this should do the job. To test it, in Program mode, I turned on both Input switches, then switched to Run mode. Otherwise in Run mode, if 1 switch is first turned on without the other, the Output never goes on.