Dl240 with analog 4-20 input

f16bmathis

Member
Join Date
Sep 2013
Location
Wisconsin
Posts
131
I've got a DL205 with a 240 CPU and I've put a F2-04AD-1 analog 4-20 input card installed on slot 3 (last slot of the 4 slot rack) for an RTD I'm just playing with.

Read the manual, three times, highlighted lots. Still confused on what the memory location should be written as. Manual says it is automatically selected based on where you put the card, but the example shows OUT = V7662, but the manuals memory addresses show V40400 to V40523. I don't even see an address V7662 anywhere in any of their charts for any model!?? But in the PROGRAM, the element does show locations V2000 - V7777 (Octal)

So has anyone figured this out? Plus is there a display like with RsLogix that would show the value of the sensor in the program?

Thanks!
 
> analog 4-20 input card installed on slot 3 (last slot of the 4 slot rack) for an RTD

An RTD needs a resistance input card, or an RTD card, either of which has an excitation current.

An RTD wired to a 4-20mA input board is a hardware mismatch.
 
See this manual:
http://www.automationdirect.com/static/manuals/d2anlg/ch2.pdf

Look on page 2-13. That page explains what OUT = V7662 means. For instance if you load (LD) K0400, that would mean you are using BCD numbers and all four channels. If you load (LD) K8200 that would mean you are using binary numbers and 2 channels.

Looking at page 2-11 shows that slot 3 in the main rack uses v40402 word. This is managed by the hardware and does not require you to do anything.

Looking at page 2-15 there is sample logic that shows the data for the individual channels 1 thru 4 are moved to and stored in v2000-v2003. In your case since you are using slot 3 you would LD V40402 instead of V40401.
 
Last edited:
I suggest that the following link to the module's manual be read carefully:
http://www.automationdirect.com/static/manuals/d2anlg/ch2.pdf

In slot 3, the status word V40402 can indicate activity and diagnostics.

Looking at pages 2-13 & 2-14, you need to create a rug to configure the module, which also allows you to assign the specific word to store the analog data to, then you can read the value from there.
 
> analog 4-20 input card installed on slot 3 (last slot of the 4 slot rack) for an RTD

An RTD needs a resistance input card, or an RTD card, either of which has an excitation current.

An RTD wired to a 4-20mA input board is a hardware mismatch.

Oops? But the diagram showed how to connect up a 2 wire RTD. Maybe my description of the card was wrong?
 
> analog 4-20 input card installed on slot 3 (last slot of the 4 slot rack) for an RTD

An RTD needs a resistance input card, or an RTD card, either of which has an excitation current.

An RTD wired to a 4-20mA input board is a hardware mismatch.

Ah, yes, you are correct. I was trying to connect an analog card to an RTD. Found the RTD card $300! A little beyond my "toying around" budget after spending $200 on the wrong card. Guess I'll see what this one can do. Though it does show connecting RTDs to it... might see what that's about.
 
I suggest that the following link to the module's manual be read carefully:
http://www.automationdirect.com/static/manuals/d2anlg/ch2.pdf

In slot 3, the status word V40402 can indicate activity and diagnostics.

Looking at pages 2-13 & 2-14, you need to create a rug to configure the module, which also allows you to assign the specific word to store the analog data to, then you can read the value from there.

I've created the rungs, and even supplied power to the modules power input, though I'm not sure if it needs that or not, why would it?
So is V40402 going to change value in usage view as I change the input? I'm using a loop simulator to supply an analog voltage I can adjust. I can only access memory locations up to V4377, I don't even have a 5th digit. I can only see V2000-V7770.

I feel like I'm reading a manual translated from Chinese. It doesn't give enough detail to figure it out.
 
It always is a good idea to zip and post your files so that others on here might be able to spot what needs correcting.
 
According to the chart on page 2-14:
The Table below applies to the DL240, DL250--1 and DL260 CPU base.​
CPU Base: Analog Input Module Slot-Dependent V-memory Locations​
Slot 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
No. of Channels V7660 V7661 V7662 V7663 V7664 V7665 V7666 V7667​
Storage Pointer V7670 V7671 V7672 V7673 V7674 V7675 V7676 V7677

and you indicated you installed in slot 3, you would
LD K8100 for Binary data and one channel - K8400 for binary 4 channels
OUT V7663
LDA O2000 (if you want your data to arrive at V2000)
OUT V7673

Your data for channel 1 should be at V2000 - channel 2 @ V2001

this was all spelled out on page 2-13

Much of using a device causes us to go to the manual which, more times than not, turns out to be a technical reference, but not a tutorial. All the details of the material need to be considered carefully.
 
You have a 4 slot base, so the last slot of your base is considered Slot 2 when programming.

Physical slot 1 = CPU
Physical slot 2 = Slot 0
Physical slot 3 = Slot 1
Physical slot 4 = Slot 2

Forget about V40402, you don't need to concern yourself with that. It has to deal with the older processor DL230, and you don't have that.

Refer to page 2-13 for your program code, create your rung as shown using the following values -
LD K400 (Do not use K8400 because the CPU works in BCD, so you want your values in BCD)
OUT V7662 (Stores the number of channels to scan, 4 in this case)
LDA O2000
OUT V7672 (Stores the pointer address)

After you have downloaded your code you must use the terminal switch on the processor and put the switch into Program then back into Run in order to run the above rung. You can double check V7662 and verify it's value is 400. V7672 should contain the (Octal) value 2000.

The above code will scan all 4 channels of the AI card and store their values in V2000, V2001, V2002, and V2003.

Yes the card requires 0V and +24VDC.
 
Last edited:
According to the chart on page 2-14:
The Table below applies to the DL240, DL250--1 and DL260 CPU base.​
CPU Base: Analog Input Module Slot-Dependent V-memory Locations​
Slot 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
No. of Channels V7660 V7661 V7662 V7663 V7664 V7665 V7666 V7667​
Storage Pointer V7670 V7671 V7672 V7673 V7674 V7675 V7676 V7677

and you indicated you installed in slot 3, you would
LD K8100 for Binary data and one channel - K8400 for binary 4 channels
OUT V7663
LDA O2000 (if you want your data to arrive at V2000)
OUT V7673

Your data for channel 1 should be at V2000 - channel 2 @ V2001

this was all spelled out on page 2-13

Much of using a device causes us to go to the manual which, more times than not, turns out to be a technical reference, but not a tutorial. All the details of the material need to be considered carefully.

It might be spelled out, but I find myself reading over this page several times trying to decode what they mean.

Step 1, LD K8400, load a constant "K" in binary "8" with "4" channels, and throw two "0"'s at the end just for fun. This will then scan all 4 channels and convert it to binary.

Step 2, OUT V7663, scan slot 3

Step 3, LDA O2000, Load an Octal value (or is this binary because I selected it?) into Ch1- V2000, Ch2- V2001...

Step 4, OUT V7673, Store the value of O2000 at location V7673.

Maybe I read into it too much!
 
You have a 4 slot base, so the last slot of your base is considered Slot 2 when programming.

Physical slot 1 = CPU
Physical slot 2 = Slot 0
Physical slot 3 = Slot 1
Physical slot 4 = Slot 2

Forget about V40402, you don't need to concern yourself with that. It has to deal with the older processor DL230, and you don't have that.

Refer to page 2-13 for your program code, create your rung as shown using the following values -
LD K400 (Do not use K8400 because the CPU works in BCD, so you want your values in BCD)
OUT V7662 (Stores the number of channels to scan, 4 in this case)
LDA O2000
OUT V7672 (Stores the pointer address)

After you have downloaded your code you must use the terminal switch on the processor and put the switch into Program then back into Run in order to run the above rung. You can double check V7662 and verify it's value is 400. V7672 should contain the (Octal) value 2000.

The above code will scan all 4 channels of the AI card and store their values in V2000, V2001, V2002, and V2003.

Yes the card requires 0V and +24VDC.

OK, so I'm in slot 2, powered up with 24V from the CPU. I switched the CPU to Term and then back to run, but nothing seems to happen. Looking at V7662, it just shows a "X" and V7672 also shows an "X". Is there some way to see what value those memory locations hold?
 
Your data will arrive in V2000, V2001, V2002, V2003.
LDA O2000, OUT V7673 (V7673 is the module's pointer to the data location (V2000)).

It looks kinda cryptic because it is. This is definitely NOT the only device that uses cryptic configuration / programming style.
 

Similar Topics

Hello PLCs. I need assistant with my current problems with the H2-ECOM100. Machine configuration: DL205 with DL240 cpu, and H2-ECOM100 plugged...
Replies
11
Views
3,667
Hello, Wondering if anyone could possibly shed some light on an issue with a Direct Logic 205/DL 240 CPU. I'm having zero luck talking to this...
Replies
2
Views
2,766
Original system has one pump and 26 hoppers. Each hopper has a Full switch. Only one input was used on the PLC for the Full switch. Operator...
Replies
8
Views
2,441
So I've got this project where I need a LOT of adjustable timers (each with different times). So I was thinking of using the 4 Pots on the DL240...
Replies
14
Views
3,521
Attached is a Directsoft file for a machine that watches the next machine upline for a ready signal, and if the signal (X11) is there it sends...
Replies
30
Views
7,627
Back
Top Bottom