New and lost.

JIMCOO

Hi everyone, I'm new to PLC and everything it involves. I'm using LogicxPro simulator. I'm pretty much lost on how to write a document program using the I/) Simulator. I have no example how to write it in the Simulator. Here's the information:
1. When input A is closed, turn "on" and hold "on" outputs U and V until A opens.
2. When input A is closed and either B or C are open, turn "on" output W; otherwise, it should be "off."
3. When input D is closed or open, turn "on" output X.
4. When input D is closed, turn "on" output Y and turn "off" output Z.
A_I:1/0 B_I:1/1 C_I:1/2 DI:1/3 U_O:2/0 V_O:2/1 W_O:2/2 X_O:2/3
Y_O:2/4 Z_O:2/5

Here is how to get started. Some good documentation for this case is simply the descriptions of the 4 steps as shown in the attached picture. That explains very well when each output should go ON and OFF.

First start LogixPro, then select "Simulations, I/O Simulator". That brings up the screen on the left side of the picture below, giving access to the Input switches and Output indicators.

I have added all Outputs and done Step 1 for you. Now look at this example and add the Inputs on the correct rungs for the other 3 steps. Read the description of each step and figure out what combination of Inputs should make it happen. (As you add the other 3 Inputs B, C, and D, you should type in a symbol description for each PLC address). Then test to see if your deductions were correct. If not, try again.

New and Lost- Jimcoo.jpg

Last edited:
I/O Simulator

Thanks for the help in the right direction. I"m having to use a 10 inch acer laptop since LogicxPro won't work on my macbook. This is what I've come up with, not sure how much of it is correct. Thanks again.

LadderRungs.jpg

Add the rung comments as Lancie did. Copy and paste them into rung comments. I am not sure where to find rung comment entries in Logixpro, but someone else here will.