CompactLogix 5370L2 controller to Panel View 6 Plus

sxj1988

I have a question about how to get the PLC communicate with the PanelView?
(This is my first time trying to connect it)

Equipment:

PLC: Compact Logix 5370 L2 Controller (1769-L24ER-QB1B)
PanelView: Allen Bradley PanelView Plus 600 (2711PC - T6C20D8 SER A)

At the moment my computer is connected to the PLC (via USB port) and I have an ethernet cable going from the plc to the panel view. I've tried to "Add a new device" through RsLinx Classic and I get nothing.

I've used RsLinx Enterprise and still no luck, also tried with the FactoryTalk View Studio and I am able to add the device manually, but it does not seem to be communicating.

So I was wondering what do I need to do in order to get the PLC communicate with the PanelView?

Thanks in advance

You don't have to place the Panelview Plus into the I/O list of the CompactLogix. The PLC doesn't initiate communication with the HMI, it just responds to request from the HMI.

When it comes time to send an application to the Panelview the programming PC must have a communication link - usually Ethernet - to the Panelview's port (through a switch I would guess). At that point RSLinx should be able to 'see' the panelview.

I already set up the PanelView IP address: 192.168.1.125
PLC I dont think I have set it up yet.

You need to give the PLC an IP address. Since you are already connecting to it via USB you could do this directly in the Controller Properties dialogue box inside RsLogix 5000. Select the "Internet Protocol" tab and Select Manually configure IP settings. Then input your desired IP settings.

Update:

I already setup the PLC IP address: I pinged it from cmd I got 192.168.1.10.
I tried pinging it through the cmd and it times out.
Then what should I do next? RsLinx classic does not sees the panel view.
I also tried DF1 (RS -232 port) and it does not Autoconfigure.