PLC Time Clock

Leigh.edler

Hey all.

I'm using an allen bradley 1769-L35E. I'm supposed to be programming a time clock for people to clock in and out. Eventually this system will allow certain people access to certain doors and what not. I'm new to PLC programming and havent done much at all. I'm just trying to figure out how to get each card to correlate with each person in the plant, and also how to go about setting up the time card aspect of it. Forgive me for being such a noob. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Each card has a unique ID, parse ID, lookup ID in database and crossref door access permissions. Return valid/invalid signal(fail closed probably)?

Is this a class project? Because if not, I'd recommend COTS hardware/software to make this a lot easier.

Ok, Well I'd use a SQL database to store the card IDs, users, permission levels(ie which doors), and audit log(what cards, when, where, success/failure)
You'll want a simple front end application to add/remove users/cards eventually, but you can do without in the short term.
If the card reader will be hooked to the PLC, You'll want a SCADA type application to 'read' the card id/door id on a trigger. Then the SCADA would do a lookup against that combo to verify access, write an audit log, and send a return signal to the PLC.

I agree that there are definitely off-the-shelf solutions for access control and timekeeping, but if you're using a logic controller, so be it.

How does a person "clock in" ? Do they have a NFC card or other identity device, or do they type a username and password into some kind of computer ?

How will the person identify themselves to the secured door ? Do they use the same card or device as when they clock in ?

I would approach this with a set of very simple single-dimensional arrays.

The first array includes identifiers for the smart cards.
The second array includes employee names or employee numbers.