Siemens programming question

muusic_man

I have the following code in My S7-300 function block:

AN #Dig_IN_GLYCOL_LVL_OK
S #ALM_LO_GLYCOL_LVL
AN #FLAG_CHILLER_ENABLE
AN #TMP_UNIT_LOCAL_ENABLED
R #ALM_LO_GLYCOL_LVL

I want to add a time delay of 3 seconds before the set of the alarm. Can someone show me what the code would look like. I am an AB guy by trade and was asked to make this minor change to one of our Siemens PLCs. Thanks in advance.

Since this is a Function Block (FB) I assume that this is an FB used for several instances.

Add the SFB4 to the STAT declaration part of the FB. Give it the name T_LO_GLYCOL

Then change the code to this:

Code:
Network 1:
      AN    #Dig_IN_GLYCOL_LVL_OK
      =     L      1.0
      BLD   103
      CALL  #T_LO_GLYCOL
       IN:=L1.0
       PT:=T#3S
       Q :=
       ET:=
      NOP   0

Network 2:
      A     #T_LO_GLYCOL.Q
      S     #ALM_LO_GLYCOL_LVL

Network 3:
      AN    #FLAG_CHILLER_ENABLE
      AN    #TMP_UNIT_LOCAL_ENABLED
      R     #ALM_LO_GLYCOL_LVL
By splitting into the 3 networks and formatting the code like this you can switch to LAD which probably you will be more comfortable with as an AB programmer.

Notice that you have to change the IDB of all the instances that uses the FB, and you have to download the FB and IDBs to the CPU.

Thanks so much Jesper. This worked well.

Now if I could be bold enough to ask another question.

I have an FC76 that has a piece of code that reads as follows:

AN #DIG_IN_SUCTION_OK
A #ENABLE_LO_SUCTION
= #ALARM_LO_SUCTION

This function is called from my FB56.

What is the easiest way to delay the alarm delay the alarm for 5 seconds. In other words, if the first statement is true for 3 seconds then goes false, nothing happens. I will only ge the alarm when the suction is low and stays low for 5 seconds.