Controlling ABB ACS800 via ControlNet

nilkiw

Hi there,

I have been tasked with getting this drive to communicate with an Allen Bradley PLC. My experience with PLC's and RSLogix 5000 is minimal which makes the hardest part of this knowing which questions or what exactly to ask. With that said, I'll give it my best...

My confusion here is mostly centered around being able to use (and the very concepts of) control words and status words. I don't know how to use the data in RSlogix in order to manipulate the drive. Any insights here would be greatly appreciated - Ive spent many days reading the related documentation/pdfs but am not gaining any ground here.

I am an electrician and have spent a little time with PLCs in school as well as working with a simulator.

Thanks ahead of time.

Welcome to the Forum !

Can you point to some of the documentation you know about for the ACS800 and its ControlNet adapter module ?

It's necessarily going to be harder to use a third party competitive product than it will be to use the A-B product with its built-in module profiles and integration of the drive configuration software.

Let's start by agreeing on the exact device you're using with the ACS800 drive to connect it to ControlNet.

Are you using the RCNA-01 interface module ?

Have you downloaded the "Add On Instructions" for the module ?

Hi there and thanks for the reply.

The module is in fact the RCNA-01 controlnet adapter.
Some of the documents I've been attempting to use as references are: (I have them all currently stored locally)

Allen Bradley 1756-CNB manual
Allen Bradley ControlNet Network configuration
User's manual for ControlNet Adaptor module RCNA-01
ACS800 manual
Networx for controlnet manual
Controlnet manual

I do realize that using a generic profile will make this more complicated... I havent yet downloaded the add-on instructions for the module. I will look into this right now.