OTE won't light on true conditions?

Pinky

Hello everyone, I am new to both PLCs and PLCS.net, so please bare with me. I am currently using RSlogix 5000 as well as factory talk view for HMI integration.

The problem I am having deals with a few of my OTEs not lighting up (becoming true) when all of the preceding conditions are met. However, it still considers some of these conditions to be true on other rungs where it is used as an input (See rung 4).

The strangest thing to me is that I use this exact same logic (Minus tag names) in a different area of my code that works to some degree (the outputs still flash from on to off without me touching anything). This can be seen in the second image, if you'll notice the conveyor is running but the elevator is not.

Image one (Offline code):
2iQvQRV.png

Image two (Online with HMI):
DvTtmz1.png

Any and all help would be appreciated, thank you!

welcome to the site
simple but not in plain site
these are inputs not outputs

ip not op.JPG

I think he's talking about rung 3, where all the XIO's and XIC's are on but the output local:4:O.data.6 is off.

Do you possibly use that address (local:4.O.data.6) with an OTE somewhere else in the program. That can cause problems with on OTE that looks like it should be on being off.

Maybe but I am referring to rungs 1 and 2.
Which each share a contact in rung 3 and a resultant contact in rung 4

To me that logic can never work

Other than what iant has pointed out above, check the following.

1. Double coil syndrom. You should only use 1 ote per address for a program

2. Ensure the logic is not between an MCR instruction

3. Ensure the subroutine is being called

4. Make sure the jsr that calls the subroutine is not between an mcr instruction.

5. Ensure you are not using an OTU on an address that you are attempting to use an OTE instruction on. You will clear the on state until the ote is scanned again.

Quite right
But this is an input being used as an output problem