People's lives are at stake!

Some people pay for rides like that.............

I agree it is a serious snafu

I have never worked on an elevator before, but one would think that there is a maximum speed they should travel. There is no way that the drive that runs that elevator had a set maximum speed programmed to a safe level. I know that there are other circumstances that made that ride completely dangerous,(moving before the door closed) but a maximum speed would keep something like that from happening even if control of the elevator was lost.

I saw part of the video on the late night news here. I can't help wonder if there's sabotage involved. With a well established system like elevator, the control protocol should be well established and tested which means to me there are more than one safety systems failed or bypassed.

The default safe state should be energy removed from break on the hoist and the guide rail?

I would love to see the final incident report on this.

Not an elevator guy, but I've done a little reading on this because it's potent nightmare fuel! I use elevators every single waking day and wanted to be reassured that such a thing was as unlikely as I suspected.

Elevators have been protected from "free fall" for a long, long time using safeties such as governors that will brake the elevator to it's rails automatically if it exceeds a certain (downward) speed. This type of safety is integral to the design of the system.