ML1400 to scada

rQx

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi!

Another question that is over my head. I haven't worked with scada or any larger systems. I simply have a ML1400 and HMI in my cabinet.

The end customer wants to know if my cabinet can communicate with their scada system.

So here's what I think:

My ML1400 can communicate with ethernet/ip.
Their scada system must be able to communicate over ethernet/ip to access my datafiles.

In this case I don't have to make any changes to my cabinet and PLC program. This would be the easiest, they can just connect to my switch in my cabinet and access the PLC.

The answer I think is appropiate to my customer is: Yes, we can communicate with your scada system over Ethernet/ip.

I ask this question because I have no knowledge what scada is what so ever. Is every scada system able to communicate with ML1400?

/Tim

Hi Tim,

I would ask you client what SCADA system they use and tell us. However you're probably right, most SCADA systems have an IO server that can communicate with AB DF1 devices like you're micrologix

You need to find out SCADA they are using, If there is not a native Ethernet/IP for Micrologix driver in the SCADA, an OPC server from Kepware will be the link.

You will have to make sure the IP address of your ML1400 can be 'pinged' from the SCADA network.
If you are on a different subnet, your IP will need to change as well as any HMIs that are on Ethernet.

the micrologix can also do modbus on either serial port and if it is version b(I think its b), it can do modbus tcp. virtually every scada system will support modbus.

Thanks alot for the answers. Very usefull information and now I know how to proceed with my answers to my client.

I have basicly told them that we can connect to their scada system using ethernet/ip and if they don't support it I have to program a modbus TCP connection at their cost.

Again, thanks alot!