Complete beginner-- IF movement stops THEN

mgaudio

Hello Everyone,
I am new to the world of PLC programming. Right now I have a micrologix 1100 and RSLogix 500 for programming it.

I would like to use an Electronic eye to keep track of a moving part in a test and if the part stops moving (say returning to the up position) then I would like that to stop the test.

Im lost, but I know its simple.

You're help is mucho super mega extremely very appreciated, for real and beyond.

Also, as a complete beginner. I see the RSLogix 500 has a custom graphical monitors section that looks pretty usefull to make things "glanceable"

Is there a way....a somewhat affordable software/plc combo that would let me have a graphical control interface from the computer.
Right now we are using a control box with buttons and knobs and counters and all the great whatnot.

I was looking at Velocio and they look nice and the interface is great, but I was worried about integration features. I know it has modbus ability but only one port for it from what I can tell (you can't have its vbuilder software accessing it and another program or workstation accessing data....from what I can tell). We want to access data from the controller and integrate it into a website that we are going to make. It looks like the micrologix 1100 will do that, but velocio wouldn't really be able to if it was being accessed by vbuilder.

Last edited:
Hello Everyone,
I am new to the world of PLC programming. Right now I have a micrologix 1100 and RSLogix 500 for programming it.

I would like to use an Electronic eye to keep track of a moving part in a test and if the part stops moving (say returning to the up position) then I would like that to stop the test.

Im lost, but I know its simple.

You're help is mucho super mega extremely very appreciated, for real and beyond.

It would help us help you if you give more detail about your process. What is your test, and how are you starting and stopping it now?