AB High Speed Counter with Encoder

GregoryCA

Hello,
I am an engineering student and I am having difficulties connecting a Yaskawa SGMAH servo motor encoder to a AB Controllogix High Speed Counter Card. The AB manual shows an example where only the data outputs of the encoder are directly wired to the card. The encoder has an external 5VDC supply. My question is: how do you wire the HSC? I have attached a screen shot of the manual example.
Any support would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance!

Capture.jpg

The encoder (incremental or absolute) is typically connected directly to the servo amplifier. As shown in the manual here in section 3.5.1 the connection from the encoder to the amplifier is shown.

In section5.2.3 it details how the output from the amplifier can be used by a controller.

Thank you Bernie for your swift reply.
As part of our 'learning' experience we are not able to use a servo amp but must use a VFD for motor control and HSC for feedback thru a PLC. I will review the manual you kindly referenced and will see if i can glean anything from it. Thanks again.

It appears that the communication from the encoder to the amp may be serial. I don't see enough connections on the encoder wiring to account for normal quadrature incremental encoder.

The 'Incremental Encoder' at 3.5.1 shows power going into the encoder on terminals (1) and (2) and two signals on (5) and (6) which I take to be the 'A' and 'B' clocks. You should be able to use these as signals with the PG0V (2) common being attached to the low pin (RET) of the HSC terminals.

The 'Absolute Encoder' on the next page is indeed a 'serial' type encoder.

Bernie, the section 3.5.2 shows the CN2 Encoder connections:

Pin Signal Function

1 PG 5V PG power supply +5V
2 PG 0V PG power supply 0V
3 BAT (+) Battery (+) (For an absolute encoder)
4 BAT (-) Battery (-) (For an absolute encoder)
5 PS PG serial signal input
6 /PS PG serial signal input