Precise PLC control of a ball valve?

mnevans93

Hello everyone. I'm currently trying to make an automated test bench for my company. What it needs to do is burnish friction material, and as part of our burnishing process, we need to turn on a ball valve which allows air to pass through a cold air gun to cool the part. The goal is for the valve to be adjustable, so a PLC can open it just enough for the part to maintain a specific temperature. Right now on our manual test bench, we have a quarter-turn ball valve that we open to different amounts for different parts to achieve the proper cooling.

However, I can't seem to find any valves that have this kind of functionality. The electric valves I've seen are simply open/closed, not partial turn, but then again, I'm not sure what kind of PLC output/language they use. I've only ever used digital before, so what kind of PLC output/language could perform this operation, and what would a valve need to use it? I'm very new to PLCs, so forgive me if my terminology isn't correct.

Okay, great! This is precisely what I was looking for.

As far as the PLC goes, what language would I need to use to operate one of these? Analog, PWM, etc.?

Edit: I should add that I want the valve to increase or decrease flow dynamically based on a thermocouple's temperature reading.

Last edited:
What widelto linked to is probably a bit large for what you are looking for. I would recommend something like this:
http://xdki.festo.com/xdki/data/doc_ENUS/PDF/US/MPYE_ENUS.PDF

It is a Festo MPYE variable flow directional valve. You don't need the directional control but it would work. I think Festo makes a single direction flow only version of this but I can't find it right now.