Unity Pro Modbus Communication

atomtm

Hello everyone!
I am very new to the world of plcs with basic knowledge about their communication capabilities.
I am trying to figure out how the modbus protocol is implemented in Schneider's Unity Pro . To be more specific the I/O Scanning feature .
Is there any guide on how to send a simple bit from a master device to a slave device using simulation software like this : http://www.plcsimulator.org/.
I am sorry for this general question but I don't know where to begin with!

Thank you in advance

http://www.plcsimulator.org/

You don't state what product you have as there are multiple platforms and devices that support IOScanner service, and the configuration is different for older vs. new generation modules. So I'm left to guess, and I guess it's a CoPro on a Premium CPU.

I've used this simulator before for testing and it works. Here is how I have it working now:

ServerSimulator.jpg

I run the simulator on my PC, with IP 192.168.3.10 (in green box in IOScanner config). The simulator is set for ModbusTCP (other green box), and that's all that is really needed on the PC side. Be sure your firewall is disabled or allow TCP port 502, whichever you prefer.

For IOscanner, enter the PC IP address as shown, I choose UnitID 1, but you can choose anything for this test, set your timings - I arbitrarily choose default health timeout and then a RepRate of 250ms. This is really a period, not a rate - time between ModbusTCP queries. Then the registers are called out on both ends - where to get/set data at the PLC side (%MW addresses), and where to set/get on the simulator side, and I pointed to where they end up in the simulator. Notice the (in)famous off-by-one Modbus addressing. Whether this affects you or not depends on the products in use.