Type J Thermocouples through a 1756-IT6

OneManShow

I have 14 Type J thermocouples wired to 3 Controllogix 1756-IT6 modules. Originally all modules using the default configuration. All wired channels appeared to be approx. 40 Degrees low. This is based on the heaters being off and the extruder at room temperature for weeks (there are no manual temp gauges).

I've worked for SI's since the earlier 90's but I'm relatively new at the compact/controllogix platform and thermocouple modules in general. With my experience I've always seemed to get the projects on the legacy controllers as the youngsters don't know them. And when it has came to temperature I've mainly used RTD modules, which when setup right report a temp with one implied decimal. I would think the thermo module would be the same.

I can change the numbers in the scaling and get it close to what I think it should be. But, I don't know if it is linear or right when heated up. But I don't think this is a proper solution to a perceived module setup issue.

Anyway, I know this is a lot of babble. But any help in getting this right would be appreciated. Again, the only info the customer is giving me on these thermocouples is they are type J.

I'll check it. However, I know I've swapped it at the module terminal strip in the panel and the value was way off the estimated temp. I don't remember if it went way high or way low, but it made me think they must be wired right.

It would be very usual for the module to be off by that much.

Cold junction compensation installed?

I am not a Contrologix user but if you can post the program ( zip it first) someone can double check the configuration.

Last edited:
I don't own RSLogix 5000 standard, only the mini version which works only for CompactLogix not ControlLogix. So I'm using the customers laptop until I can afford to purchase standard. I'm not currently onsite. When I'm over there (either later today or tomorrow) I'll post a print screen of the module config.