Opinion on Large Integrators versus Smaller Companies when it comes to New Graduates?

NewGrad.14

Hi all,

I am a recent Mechanical Engineering graduate who is very interested in a career in automation. I have been researching different plc integrators, as I've heard from multiple sources that the variety of tasks and systems worked on for the larger companies is invaluable to new engineers. I also have noticed some integrators offer training up front before you even begin working, which is enticing. I'm thinking this would be the preferable option than say, starting work with a distribution partner company, although there are probably more positions available for that option.

Can anyone with experience with some of the larger integrators offer their opinion on how they treat their entry level hires?

Thanks for your time.

Id say it would be best to go with a larger integrator. Most important, you should have resources to fall back on if you dont understand something. You can always move to a smaller integrator after a couple of years.

While the larger integrators and large companies provide stability, possible educational benefits, and good resume work experience, the smaller integrators and control houses sometimes provide invaluable experience with more individualized systems.

Working for a large integrator is demanding, but more broad in its scope. They could work with a number of different PLCs, Drives, control systems, and hardware. The smaller shops often work with only the type of system they deal with and have little experience outside of their own architecture.

Smaller shops often are less forgiving in hours and field work. They will work you as hard as they can, where ever they can, for as long as they can. Larger integrators usually have some limitations on the hours you should work, but often still pressure to get the work done...the old get more done in less time routine.