How to connect Allen Bradley SLC 5/05 to PC using serial to Ethernet converter cable

vineet0487

I have an Allen Bradley SLC 5/05 in my location and I want to connect it to my PC to configure a new CPU 1747 L552 in its rack. But, the serial port of the PC is down and I do have a Serial to Ethernet cable available with me. So, as I am new to PLC's, I would like to know about how to connect Allen Bradley SLC 5/05 to PC using serial to Ethernet converter cable and how to configure it using it.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Vineet Kumar

Hi Vineet,

Is there a reason you can't just use a patch lead and connect directly to the Ethernet port of the 5/05? Saves an awful lot of configuring of ports and adapters...

Regards,

Rob

Hi Rob,
thanks for the quick reply. Actually, I have no idea about how to configure a new SLC 5/05 CPU. I can try with a new Ethernet patch cor but, need a guideline map for configuring the same, as I dont really know the default IP address of this new CPU which I would have to configure in RS LINX as an ETH_IP driver, i suppose.

It has been awhile since I have done a new 5/05 but I think you can set the IP using BootP and then once set disable BootP. My BootP software is located under Rockwell Software on my laptop.
Or you could use the serial port to get online and set it that way.

Hope this helps.

Thanks rob, found BOOTP under the Rockwell programs. Can you please also tell me how to use this application to configure and assign IP to it without actually knowing the default IP in the first place?

Vineet,

This is Rob, that was Bob!! ;-) BootP is a utility that will scan your network reporting any compatible devices it may find. Make a note of the MAC address of your 5/05, and once BootP detects this address, it should be possible to assign an IP address to it. As Bob said above, then disable BootP and restart the CPU (been a while since i've used BootP but in principle, that's the basic idea).

Regards,

Rob

Rob and Bob,