[PID] Help for PID not responding and not giving any output

freddyrm

Hello there, I'm an engineering student and I'm working on a project for a class about automation.

Scenario: Home automation plc controlling security (eg: fire) and comfort of an public environment. That thing is simulated with a vb program.
I't my first try with plc programming/ladder logic/and PIS's, so be patient plese ;)

Problem: To control temperature in a room I'm using a PLC wich, on a given setpoint (°C scaled on the PID range wich is 0-˜16000), should give a proportional output based on the error. (is it right?)
I've read all the possible literature about PID settings and I was trying to test the PID reaction with a manual input, BUT it doesn't respond to anything i put on it and I'm literally getting mad with that guy.

So I need some hints from people much experienced then me. I'll be alot grateful for any help.

Schermata 2014-07-29 alle 21.00.19.jpg

The PID instruction is not emulated in RSLogix500 Emulate. It will sit there error free, but no attempt is made to simulate a SLC PID algorithm. You can try to write your own debug logic to simulate it if you want to test the basics. Doing that is a bunch of work, and the tuning values will be meaningless to the real machine anyway.

It is much easier in most cases to get your hands on a real SLC to test PID code.

Another thing is that if it is for COOLING comfort, then you need to change the PID Control Mode from Reverse acting E = SP-PV (for heating) to Direct acting E = PV-SP (for cooling-type applications). Each time your HVAC needs to switch to heating or cooling, you will need to switch the PID Control Mode.
Scenario: Home automation plc controlling security (eg: fire) and comfort of an public environment.

Thanks Lancie1 for the E setting hint :)