Recommendations Please

mr.dan

Hello. I am a novice at plc programming and am trying to achieve the following goal. I have an input from a sensor to detect the rotation of the idler wheel on a bandsaw. The input switches on to off at an irregular rate. I wish to control the state of a bit to tell when the rotation has stopped. Any recommendations for the most efficient way to accomplish this task? I am working in RS500.

Last edited:
Are you saying that the sensor is sending a pulsed signal but the signal is not a steady frequency? When the wheel is stopped does the sensor send any signal? What type of PLC do you use a SLC or MicroLogix?

Yes, the frequency is not steady. The sensor is switching based on a light/dark detection thru a hole in the wheel. The wheel could stop in any position causing the input to be on or off. Processor is SLC505. Thank you very much for your response.

Depending on the maximum frequency you need to detect, you may need a high speed counter module.
If the duration of the on and the off state of the sensor is always greater than the PLC scan time, you can wire the sensor to a discrete input point and set up two timers in logic. One timer for the off state, the other for the on state. Set the presets for the timers longer than the normal duration of the sensor states. If either timer reaches its preset, motion has stopped.
If the duration of the on and off states could be less than the PLC's scan time you will need to use a high speed counter module. That will be a little more of a challenge for a rookie.

see if something like this will help ... note that depending on which processor you're using, you might have to substitute an ONS instruction for the OSR ...

prove_rotation.PNG