Alias IO in User Data Type in ControlLogix/Studio 5000

CapinWinky

I'm new to AB and I'm running into a lot of things people tell me can't be done in AB that actually CAN be done, so I thought I'd ask here if anyone knows of a way to point to IO points from a structure (specifically ControlLogix with Studio 5000).

To be clear, I know that the editor won't let you make a structure member an alias tag, but this seems like a very arbitrary limitation and I thought there might be a way around it.

For now, I have to make a routine to copy in all the input values and then another to copy the output values out. AB gives me the distinct feeling I've had my tools taken away and I've been given a pair of safety scissors and a helmet.

I'm new to AB and I'm running into a lot of things people tell me can't be done in AB that actually CAN be done, so I thought I'd ask here if anyone knows of a way to point to IO points from a structure (specifically ControlLogix with Studio 5000).

To be clear, I know that the editor won't let you make a structure member an alias tag, but this seems like a very arbitrary limitation and I thought there might be a way around it.

For now, I have to make a routine to copy in all the input values and then another to copy the output values out. AB gives me the distinct feeling I've had my tools taken away and I've been given a pair of safety scissors and a helmet.

I feel your pain.... You'd have thought it ought to be possible for a structure member to be an alias to another tag, but not so...

One way round this is to make all the I/O points go through handling function code, or AOIs, then they can just be specified as "Required" Input or Output parameters. Most I/O will be for field devices like pumps/valves/limit switches/level probes etc., which would usually have a standard "handler".

Even if it's a simple pushbutton, there's no harm in using a "debounce" handler (with zero times set), to allow the input to be mapped into the UDT.