RSNetworx and 1769-SDN DeviceNet module

MJSE

Hi all

I added the 1769_SDN to L43 controller, I run RSNetworx and it says the 1769-SDN is not registered so I try to import and register the EDS file that I downloaded from Rockwell server, after the wizard finished still there is a big ? mark on 1769-SDN ! can you help me how to fix this issue please?

Thanks in advance for any help

1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg

Last edited:
Reboot the PC, create a new project file, and re-browse the network.

What version of RSNetworx are you using ? What version of RSLinx Classic ? What version of RSLogix 5000 ?

If you upgrade to Studio 5000 v21, you need to upgrade to RSLinx Classic 3.6 and RSNetworkx 21 as well; there was a big change and pre-21 versions just don't mix.

Ken after I register the 1769 on RSNetworks should I do anything else on RSLogix 5000 or not? I am new in DeviceNet please advice me how I can set it up.

For ordinary non-Safety devices, RSNetworx and RSLinx are the only software involved in configuring the scanlist.

Those versions ought to work fine together.

Maybe try deleting the driver in RSNetworx and re-creating it. Or deleting the Harmony.RSH and Harmony.HRC files in the \RSCOMMON directory to reset all the RSLinx driver configurations.

Ken I reboot the PC and created a new project in RSLogix 5000 and added 1769 module to it , now what is next step, run RSLinx Clasic or RSNetworx ?

I run Diagnostic on RSNetworx and it shows a warning saying "The DeviceNet Scanner in Idle mode" can it be the cause of issue?

MJSE said:
Thanks Ken, I am using:

- RSNetWorx 11.00
- RSLinx Classic v3.51.01
- RSLogix 5000 v20.01.00

Ken Roach said:
...Those versions ought to work fine together...

Not quite...

RSLinx Classic v3.51 or higher installs the new EDS Subsystem, which uses an SQL Database. RSNetWorx v11 cannot currently access this newer Database as it still registers and accesses its EDS files using the older Windows Registry method.

Some info...