How to add a time delay?

plccopco

Dear All,

I am a beginner in PLC. I am writing a sample structure text application. I have written a while loop and i want to put a timer delay inside the loop.
My code looks like below

where TEMP is INT,
Code:
TEMP := 1;

WHILE	TEMP = 1 DO
    //1. My logic is here

TEMP := TEMP+1;

IF TEMP = 1000 THEN
		TEMP := 0;
	END_IF;

[COLOR="Red"][B]//2. Here i want to put a 2 second delay[/B][/COLOR]

END_WHILE	;

Small help will be highly appreciated.

Thank you all.

Search for TON, TOFF OR TP, those are function blocks used to do that.

BUT, be extremely cautious with the loops:

a PLC is as deterministic as it can and it automatically loops (an empty program in a PLC would look like : WHILE TRUE DO (this is the empty space you see at start) ENDWHILE).

And as a PLC is adjusted to process this loop in a certain cycle time you can't stop it more than that limit.

You should do something like:

Code:
TON(IN := TRUE, PT:= t#2s);

A function block requires to be initialized and executed, and usually it needs more than a cycle to perform it's task, therefore you will need something like:

Code:
CASE istate of
  1: 
    mTON(IN := FALSE, PT:= t#2s);
    iState := iState + 1;

2:
    mTON(IN := TRUE);
    IF (mTON.Q)
    THEN

Good luck!

It is best not to try to stop the PLC scan, but rather have your program work within the PLC's scan loop, the traditional method for which they were originally designed.

Timed events work best with fewer errors when done outside of While-Do or For-Next loops. It appears that your loop is only creating a delay in the first place. For that use a timer, not a loop.