Melsec FX3G communication with .net

mjain02

All,

I am new to Mitsubishi PLC. In our project we need to communicate with the FX3G PLC using the USB port in PC. My program will be in C#/VB.net.

I have downloaded some protocol specification of FX series PLC. But all this specification is of Serial port. Can any one suggest how can I implement the communication/ How can I access the FX USB component?

Thanks,

Manish

I looked at doing this a while ago myself, but changed my mind and eventually added an E-NET module to the 3G and communicated via Ethernet instead (actually it was a good move because the industrial PC was eventually moved to a position far in excess of the USB limit). There are good examples to follow in the communications manual. I coded a quick interface in c# and found it relatively painless (and I am by no means a c# expert).

Last edited:
Thanks Twocozz,

Your suggestion is good, but actually we don't have any budget for that expensive hardware. BTW, what is the protocol used to communicate over ENet?

Regarding FX3G you have few options:
-classical FX3U-ENET - Ethernet communication module 10/100BaseT, TCP/IP, UDP, POP3, SMTP. Limitation is that you can't access to port 502, and that is standard port for modbus communication. Still you can do some tweaking if you have good router and have Modbus. Price around 450EUR. Excellent solution.
-FX3U-ENET-P502 - It has everything including Modbus TCP/IP. Price around 550EUR. This is the best solution regarding quality.
-FX3U-ENET-ADP - Mounted on the left side. Ethernet ADP module, MELSOFT, MC protocols, direct connection & data monitor. You can't do Modbus. Price around 200Eur. Very good solution if you have OPC or SCADA with drivers.
-FX3U-485ADP-MB. RS485 adapter with integrated Modbus support. Price around 180Eur. If you don't need high speed and you are not experienced programmer, but you still need equipment for harsh environment this is choice.