TrendX Wrapper in RSVIEW 7.40

FSEIPEL

I'm trying to update our antiquated trending. I'm still relatively new to A/B having worked with it only for about a year. What I WANT is DeltaV Trendbuilder-like functionality, where operators can click on a tag on the screen, and add it to a plot with a single click, without needing to browse for it in the datalog. I am working on achieving this using the TrendX Wrapper control, since it can be manipulated programatically/dynamically. So I was able to add a pen using a command such as:

Invoke CustomTrend.RSView32RSTrendXWrapper1.Pens_Add("TE242","DescriptorForLegend","Units e.g. deg F",0,100,"Datalog9")

where CustomTrend = Screen Name, RSView32RSTrendXWrapper1 = ActiveX RSTREND Wrapper Object, TE242 = Tag, 0, 100 = min and max, and Datalog 9 = Datalog name.

I wanted my generic faceplate to display 'add to plot' and 'plot this tag alone' buttons. 'Add to plot' will of course, add that tag with whatever tags are already on the trend, when clicked. I can use
Invoke CustomTrend.RSView32RSTrendXWrapper1.Pens_RemoveAll to clear the pens before adding 1st pen so this isn't a problem either. I'm running on a dual-headed display (just updated project to handle that ourselves), so plot appears on lower screen, and operator graphics on upper screen.

Issues I am having:

1.) How does one insert a double quote character? I realize this is a very basic question. Absent any guidance, best I could come up with, was to set a memory tag equal to double quotes, and then invoke with my placeholders, for instance, using

Invoke CustomTrend.RSView32RSTrendXWrapper1.Pens_Add($DQ$#1$DQ$,$DQ$#2$DQ$,$DQ$#3$DQ$,#4,#5,$DQ$#6$DQ$)

where DQ = tag set to double quotes. Is there a better way? This works but is hard to read. Above call is that made by the button you click on the faceplate of a given tag to add it to trend.