SLC5/04 to Compact GuardLogix

ASF

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,

I've been asked to give an estimate on a job where the main aim is to remove 14 pilz safety relays and replace them with a programmable safety controller, and consolidate the safety zoning because nobody on site really understands how it works any more. The site is generally going to GuardLogix processors across the board for all machinery, which suggests that they have a lot of money to spend, but then for this job they've requested a Compact GuardLogix to save money :unsure:

Anyway. That part of it is straightforward, the tricky part is going to be interfacing with the existing PLC. Disclosure: I'm a new school programmer. I like my ethernet comms and probably wasn't even born yet when DH+ was invented :rolleyes:

The existing PLC is an SLC5/04. From my reading, it has DH+ and RS232 onboard. There is currently a blue hose connected from the DH+ port to a PanelView of some sort (I'm working off photos here as I can't get to site). Next to that in the rack is a BASIC card, which has two DB9's for RS-232/423, RS-422, and RS-485 and an RJ45 for DH485 comms. One of the DB9's is in use, the other two ports are free. Then there are two DeviceNet scanners. Not sure what they talk to, presumably some drives. So I've got a wide selection of things to plug into, but none that this new-school programmer likes dealing with ;) there are no spare slots in this chassis (or the expansion chassis) so additional cards are out as well.

I've come up with the following options. Can anyone comment on any of these ideas? Any recommendations on what's the simplest/easiest, pitfalls and traps to be aware of, reasons why I'm wrong and it won't work, completely different ideas I haven't thought of, open to anything :)