FactoryTalk ME 6.0 Tag Browser Problems

marcwand

Hey Guys,

I have been having a problem for awhile now where I cannot drill down to the Tag Browser or test any screens in FactoryTalk View ME 6.0.

I am not saying that I am a gun panelview programmer by any means, but I have been looking after all of the panelviews on my site for many years without any problems.

Now when I say test an individual screen, all of the indications load up with errors and the text in the status window down the bottom reads "Failed to resolve item's ID '[tagname]' because it does not exist on any server." This message gets written for every tag used on the screen as every tag has an error.

My configuration in RSLinx Enterprise Runtime tab matches that of the design tab. I can ping the equipment that I am connecting to. Interestingly enough if I were to go and modify a tag connection, the tag browser does not load up correctly. I cannot see any online or offline tags. I cannot see any shortcuts underneath the project name. There is a plus sign beside the project name that does nothing if I click on it, and if I refresh all folders it simply disappears.

This has suddenly happened with every project that I have loaded up.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled RSView and RSLinx with no resolution. These panelview projects work on another PC with no problems.

I have searched everywhere and found reference to the DIBserver.exe service which is running and a sfl20??.dll file as well. My problem does not seem to be related to those as they are all running and in the correct places as stated in other posts.

I did find one post where a guy was talking that he had to reformat his computer.. I would very much like to avoid doing this.

Does anyone have any ideas on anything else I can try before I throw this laptop through a chipper?? haha..

Thanks in advance.