AdviceOnOperatingSystemForNewLaptop

gbradley

Lifetime Supporting Member
I am getting a new Laptop.
My only concerns are my ability to install and use RSLogix 500, and RSLogix5000
I noticed that the compatibility chart only shows that Win7 is supported for Studio5000.
attachment.php

I really want to get Windows 8.1, because I hate to be behind the curve too far on releases.
Heck, the Laptop that I am now using has WinXP on it, and it has been unsupported for half a year now.
I think some here have been able to use RA software with Win8.1.

Do you think that I should downgrade to Win7, or go with Win8.1 and set up a VM for any software that doesn't work?

If you want Win8, go for it. You can (and probably should) run your AB software in a Win7 VM anyway. I've been doing that for the last 8 years as there are too many conflicts between the various applications in our industry.

I've actually been running Linux the last 4 years, which handles all of my basic needs of email, web browsing, file management, networking and printers, etc, and have separate VM's for each vendor. It's worked out very well.

The coolest part was when I upgraded my laptop last Spring. Instead of spending weeks getting all the software set up, I spent half a day on a Saturday installing Linux and getting the basic host functions working, then copied my VM's over and was 100% ready for business on Monday.

Good luck,
-Brad

If you can get Win & then do so as Win 8 will not do you any favors and Microsoft is trying to get away from it the way it did from Vista. Windows 10 is on the way.

Either way your AB and other industrialo software should be installed in a Windows 7 VM for a life with lower stress.