Cycling Power to PLC's

Jpfleegor

My background is a continuous automation line where the control power was always maintained unless for extreme circumstances. I have joined a new company that all the PLC's are tied to independent equipment and the power is being constantly cycled. I have yet to find any tech notes or white pages on the downside of this course of action. I this just an urban legend?

Thank you,

Jason

Independent PLCs

We run a similar method here with PLCs tied to individual machines, on many machines the PLC (and HMI) gets shut off regularly, however there is some that keep control power.

Even though I have only been here a short time I have not seen any difference in program or processor failure/malfunction between the ones that maintain power and the ones that shut off.

Independent PLC

One thing I forgot to mention, if you regularly shut down the PLC, battery maintenance becomes very important, that is the only real difference I have seen. But it is an easy fix, new battery, reload program and the machine is back on its merry way.

There is always a small chance of inductive kick damage when cycling the power to any piece of equipment. Then again, there is always a chance of incurring a power line spike while equipment is continuously energized.

As mentioned in a previous post, the memory backup battery suffers somewhat when power is regularly removed from a PLC. For most PLCs, EEPROMs can help with that situation.

What urban legend? Cycling power to a PLC is no different than cycling power to any computer.
That being said, if you have never seen your PLC turned off, you may be blissfully unaware of variables that have values that aren't properly initialized. If a PLC variable has a value that isn't set by the logic, but rather was set by someone using the programming software, upon power restoration it may have a different value. Whether that happens depends on the application and the configuration of the variable.