Plc and HMI Software??

thiefgold0913

Hello.
I am a student in the automation field and I would like to know what options are there for programming software's with PLC & HMI when funds are limited. I've worked mostley with allen bradley and know there prices are outrageous for one person to pay.
Any suggestions will be helpful.

look at Unitronics - Vision range - has integral HMI and software is free

Greetings,

Much will depend upon what your requirements are when looking for a controller and HMI. You can get really cheap with Smart Relays - limited number of I/O and limited functionality. You can then look at micro PLCs where some offer expandability and more functionality, including serial ports for interfacing with HMIs.

If you are looking at the latter, you may want to consider an embedded PLC from Triangle Research. All of their new PLCs include an Ethernet port.

http://www.eternity-sales.com/tri-plc/tri-plc.htm

They offer starter kits that include software and cables.

On the HMI side, the move is towards touch screens. Pricing will vary widely, depending upon manufacturer. We, as a distributor market a touch screen series from KEP. Screen size will range from 4.3" to 15". Pricing starts at $285.00 for the 4.3" screen. Software is included.

http://www.eternity-sales.com/KEP/MMI8000.htm

If you are looking for an HMI Software package, KEP offers Infilink. There is a two hour run license included with the download. If you are not running an application, you can use this software free of charge with the the controller. Infilink includes Kepware OPC server for communications. More information and software download can be done through the following link:

http://www.eternity-sales.com/KEP/infilink.htm

Not completely free or cheap, but cost effective for a tight budget.

Disclosure - ESI is an authorized distributor for Triangle Research and Kessler Ellis.

Last edited:
Thanks for all of the suggestions.