Strings in RSLogix?

SirCumference

I'm pretty new to Logix PLC's, but I'm trying to write some Structured Text code to run on one. I'm having trouble assigning a string value to a string tag. I found Rockwell's Structured Text programming manual online, and the only two examples it shows for how to do this are

Code:
string1.DATA[0]:= 65;
and
Code:
string1.DATA[0]:= string2.DATA[0];

Can you seriously only change strings one character at a time? Please tell me I'm missing something here! Why the heck is Rockwell's string support so mind-blowingly bad?

For better or for worse, there is no String literal or String constant in the Logix 5000 operating system.

So you can copy arrays of data from the .Data[x] SINT array, or poke character values in there one at a time in each .Data[x] element.

But you can't just assign a literal string to a String datatype tag, like

MyStringTag.Data := 'Twas brillig and the slithy toves' ;

Such a structure and method exists in IEC1131-3 Structured Text when you're creating variables. But as far as I know, it doesn't exist in Logix 5000.

I generally create String tags, then go type in the values I want in the Tag Database editor.

If you will always be writing the same string(s) you build a set of string tags that are constants, e.g. Always65String. Then use a COP(Always65String,string1,50). The 50 is where you put the length of your string.

In RsLogix 5000 to assign a string value to a tag (TAG_1) you must have a tag (TAG_2) with the value that you want. From there you can perform a COP/CPS(TAG_2, TAG_1, 1) to copy that string value into to TAG_1. If you want to clear out a string you can perform a FLL(0, TAG_1, 1) to fill the file with all 0's to clear out the string data structure. In the newer version of RsLogix 5000, I believe v31+ you can compare a tag to a literal string with an EQU instruction. I.E. EQU(TAG_1, "Test").

I hope this helps.

I'm sure the OP has a solution after 5 years...