Crimson 3 Gateway Blocks

Bullzi

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi,
I have to get 5 floating point numbers (Real) out of a CLX L33 Processor via Modbus TCP/IP. I have a Red Lion G09 HMI in the network so I was thinking that using a Gateway Block would be the easiest way to go. I have never used Gateway Blocks before so I would appreciate it if someone with experience would take a look.
I have sent up the network protocol as Modbus TCP/IP slave. I have added a gateway block with 5 registers with Real as the type. I then dragged in the tank levels that I need. Is that it? Is it really that simple?
I have attached a screen shot of the set up. If anyone has any comments please let me know.

G3 Gateway Block.jpg

I have used Gateway blocks between S7 PLC, G308 and Emerson drives via Modbus, not TCP/IP tough, without problems.

I can't see your snapshot properly. Too blurry.

Zoom in and post as a *.PNG if you can, or ZIP and post the whole *.CD3 file.

Gateway Blocks really are the most simple way to cyclically transfer data from device to device via the G3.

There's a good description in the User Manual starting on Page 31: Using Communications -> Protocol Conversion -> Master/Slave.

Hi,
I have to get 5 floating point numbers (Real) out of a CLX L33 Processor via Modbus TCP/IP. I have a Red Lion G09 HMI in the network so I was thinking that using a Gateway Block would be the easiest way to go. I have never used Gateway Blocks before so I would appreciate it if someone with experience would take a look.
I have sent up the network protocol as Modbus TCP/IP slave. I have added a gateway block with 5 registers with Real as the type. I then dragged in the tank levels that I need. Is that it? Is it really that simple?
I have attached a screen shot of the set up. If anyone has any comments please let me know.