Help with Connecting over Ethernet to 1769-L24E

Frank Miller

I am new to PLC programming, and have most of my experience in offline edits. I am trying to connect to the L24 through an Ethernet switch. I have the IP's of all devices on the network and can ping them fine.

When I open Studio 5000 it cannot go online with the controller, and the path shown in Who Active does not display a yellow "question mark" nor red "X" for the controller. It unfortunately does not for any of the devices I have connected to recently...

Can anyone help with this seemingly very simple problem? I have access to all of the information you would need to solve it, I am just having trouble using it...

Thank you in advanced!

Not sure you have the correct part number... is it a L32e ? or 23e ?

What does RSLinx show?

Thanks GIT.

Attached is the screen shot of Studio 5000. It has the processor listed.

I believe I am at a cross roads to the point where I need to learn more about the ETH and ETHIP settings/paths/whatever they are. The path to the controller that RSLinx see's is not the path that is displayed or available.

If you are able to offer any more advice I would appreciate it, again all I'm doing is trying to go online to view active status'

WW Screenshot.jpg

The first step I would take is to troubleshoot the basic connectivity between your computer and the network.

PING is a decent first step.

Also try opening the diagnostic web pages for your controllers in a Web browser. All A-B controllers have a diagnostic web page.

Next, examine the settings for your EtherNet/IP or Ethernet Devices drivers in RSLinx Classic. For EtherNet/IP, make sure it's using the right Ethernet adapter on your computer (if you have several). For Ethernet Devices, make sure that the IP addresses of your devices are in the Host List.