Interfacing dc motor with s7-200

BHEKI

Im working on a small school project and im using a PLC SIEMENS S7-200 which will drive two DC motors but I dnt knw which motors to have. The one I have are 12VDC motors with two terminals but im not sure if they are suited to be interfaced with a PLC, or do I need a special DC motors for my PLC? Since im also new to electronics and PLCs I also dnt knw I how I can connect the motors.

What are you trying to do with the motors? Start and stop them or do PWM?
What type of PLC do you have?

What are you trying to do with the motors? Start and stop them or do PWM?
What type of PLC do you have?

The motors are driving a boom gate that is they are suppose to go forward and reverse.
The type of PLC is
SIEMENS S7-200
CPU222
DI 8*24VDC
D0 6*RELAY,2A

If your motors have a full-load amperage rating of 2 Amps or less, then you should be able to run them using 4 digital relay outputs for each motor (2 Forward and 2 Reverse Outputs for each motor). (Option: use 1 Fwd and 1 Rev. Output, each controlling an external relay that has 2 NO contacts.

It seems that if you have one boom gate, you only need 1 DC motor, with Forward and Reverse outputs to reverse the direction of the DC 12 volt power.

You should use a separate exteranal 12 volt DC power supply to provide power to the motors. Switch this power On/Off using digital outputs of the Siemens S7-200 PLC. Do not use the 24 VDC PLC power to run the motors.

Last edited:
So just start/stop right and start/stop left. right?

Than you need to make something like this:
image.axd

Make a state diagram, and add everything you can think of regarding a boom gate:
When open from entrance
When open from exit
When close
Emergency
Timers

We will help you achieve this, but since this is a school project, do not expect a "turn-key-solution" we want you to learn :).

so just start/stop right and start/stop left. Right?

Than you need to make something like this:
image.axd