Rs Logix 5000 Event Programming Help

Mark Cole

Hello

I have been programming in RsLogix 5,500,5000 for about 3 years in an electrical and instrument tech position.

I am working on a project now where I have to make several different machines work together and on one of them the HMI is a custom VB app using Kepware to get the tag status from the PLC (Compactlogix)

I need to add some additional alarms and remove a few but in the PLC it looks like they are handling alarms with Event instructions and an Event Task.

I have never used Events before and I am struggling with it as I have not found a lot of how to documentation on it using Google magor or on the Rockwell website.

I was hoping someone here uses Events and could help me get started?

Example rung of what they have.

Out of material Prox XIO

Then MOV / source Tag (routineID.Alarm)Value is 14 Destination Eventbuffer.current task ID Value is 12

Then Mov Source Tag (Alarm Type) Value is 4 to Destination Tag (Eventbuffer.activeeventType Value is 2

Then MOV Source Constant (1805)to Destination Tag Eventbuffer.EventID Value is 1102

Then MOV Source Constant (1) to Destination Tag (EventBuffer.Priorityorder Value is 100.0

Then EVENT instruction Trigger event Task Task Value is Events

Sometimes when you use Bing or Google to search you have to know what to search for. For example I went to both Google and Bing and typed in "Logix event tasks" and on both, the first two results provided a wealth of knowledge with a Programming Manual and a white Paper.

I also went to ab.com (shorter than typing rockwellautomation.com) and clicked on Literature Library and in the search field I typed "event task" and clicked Search. The first three results returned:

You might want to read the white paper first to get an idea what Events do. Then take a look at the Design manual. The Programming Manual has some similar information but is more focused on how to create them.