TECO OP10 HMI to SLC500?

RanMan

I am somewhat new to incorporating an HMI for a PLC user control. I have on hand a TECO OP10 HMI that i was wondering if it could be interfaced with an AB SLC500 or if purhaps it may be restricted to just the TECO brand product line. Anyone have information on this? If it can be integrated for the SLC 500, is there online documentation on how this is accomplished? I am aware of the OptiMate brand and that it is suppose to be compatible with AB. I just thought that since I had the OP10 i would look into those. Thanks for ALL you comments and Best Regards! Randall

Seems like you are trying to do something that would not be economically practical if your time is worth anything. Having said that, if your time is free then I would suggest the following approaches.
1. Get the Optimate software and try to connect to the OP-10. If it will connect perhaps you could then determine if the OP-10 is equal to any Optimate model.
2. If that doesn't work, perhaps you could contact TECO to see if they have any drivers developed for their software that would allow the OP-10 to communicate with the AB SLC500.
3.Contact TECO and see if they would provide you with the source software for the OP-10. That way you could write the code needed to connect to the SLC500.

Thank you for your input. I am currently talking with a FactoryMation rep that says i have to make sure my AB is RS485 compatible. That isnt so much of the issue as is knowing how to set the OP10 up for communication. There is VERY little information online in regards to anything TECO related. . . hence the issue at hand

Please post the exact model number of the SLC500. Many of them use Data Highway (DH485) which is similar to RS485, others use RS232 (DF1), or Ethernet connections.

Edit:
Here is the link to the OP-10 manual.
http://factorymation.info/plr/OP10-user-manual.pdf
The COM1 option shown on page 57 in the manual is RS232 (using pins 2,3,and 5) which would be the same as RS232 DF1.