DH485 and Powerflex

sparkie

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hey, I'm a student in a PLC class, and also a Control System tech. This is my first post. What I'm curious about is the DH485 connections on an SLC 5/03 firmware 301.

I have a Powerflex4 in class and for my project want to connect it to my slc 5/03 but we don't have any kind of DH485 module. If I am only connecting the 5/03 to the powerflex, is it possible to make that connection without a module? I can make whatever kind of cable/connection I need.

I also read in the manual that I only need pins 4 and 5 on the RS485 cable to connect between the two devices.

Welcome to the Forum !

This is an excellent teaching moment to illustrate the difference between a serial signaling technology and a serial protocol.

The Data Highway 485 port on the SLC-5/03 controller does use RS-485 signaling. The voltage levels and signal biasing and cable types are all in accordance with the RS-485 standard.

But there are dozens, maybe hundreds, of different protocols that can run over RS-485 signaling.

The Powerflex drive uses one of those: its called "DSI", Drive Serial Interface. It includes several commands and data types in common with the granddaddy of industrial serial protocols, Modbus RTU.

Data Highway 485 is proprietary serial protocol developed and maintained by A-B for the SLC family of controllers in the 1980s.

While DH485 and Modbus RTU can both run on RS-232 or RS-485 wiring, they are different and incompatible protocols.

You won't be able to connect these exact devices together.

If you were able to upgrade the SLC-5/03 controller to OS302 Series C FRN 10 or 11, you would get all the modern goodies of the SLC-500 firmware, including Modbus RTU Master functionality.

Then you would be able to connect the SLC-5/03's RS-232 serial port to a RS-232/485 converter and send Modbus RTU messages to the PowerFlex drive. I've done this with the A-B 1761-NET-AIC converter, as well as with various third party devices.