Up down counter DL06 Automation Direct

kesjakpor

I am new to PLCs just started doing this about a month ago. I want to write a ladder program using directsoft5 for DLO6 . The program should have a comparator portion that instructs a counter on whether to count up or down when people enter or leave a room that has a maximum occupancy of 20 persons. At any point one should be able to walk up to a station that can show how many persons are inside the room. I need help figuring this out please. Can a regular UDC achieve this or do I need the High speed counters. Do I need any stacking instructions?

Kesjakpor

I am new to PLCs just started doing this about a month ago. I want to write a ladder program using directsoft5 for DLO6 . The program should have a comparator portion that instructs a counter on whether to count up or down when people enter or leave a room that has a maximum occupancy of 20 persons. At any point one should be able to walk up to a station that can show how many persons are inside the room. I need help figuring this out please. Can a regular UDC achieve this or do I need the High speed counters. Do I need any stacking instructions?

Kesjakpor

Please anyone with a sample ladder program that can get the up/down counter to count up or down please help

See here http://www.automationdirect.com/static/manuals/d006userm/ch5.pdf

Page 44, the counter (standard or high speed) will be depending on the input you are using

Thanks for the feedback. I saw this section of the manual earlier but my project requires more than instructions.

A room has inlet and outlet doors. Based on if someone enters or leaves the room, the ladder program should automatically instruct the counter to look for....... and based on "that" instructs the counter to increment count or decrement count. There has to be some kind of comparator circuit somewhere. Any ideas? Thanks

but my project requires more than instructions....