Expressions in FTV parameter files

Hello, I am in a unique situation where both of my company owners have basically sat me down in front of a FactoryTalk View SE station and have given me a set of P&ID drawings and said "get to work". I am new to programming much less any specific languages or software packages, and they are rarely around for me to ask questions. I have figured quite a bit out on my own but I am now in a situation that I cannot figure out by myself and nobody in the office knows either.

What I have done is created a global object with setpoints to be used for different types of transmitters, whether it be tank levels, or pressures. I have also included a bypass button and also a bypass timer for each setpoint, i.e. High-High, High, Low and Low-Low. Now directly writing an expression on my button is as follows:

If [HMI]LT_2011.HHBypassActive == 0 Then Toggle [HMI]LT_2011.HHBypassOn Else Toggle [HMI]LT_2011.HHBypassOff Endif

It works great when directly linked to the button, but I want to use this global object for dozens of transmitters. The problem I am running into is that I tried to use this expression in a parameter file, and it doesn't work. Nobody in my company is around to help, not that I think they know anyway. Is it possible to use expressions with tags in them in parameter files at all? And if so what would be the proper syntax? If not, then is there a way to accomplish my goal?

Any input would be greatly appreciated as I have never worked with FTV at all.

Those won't run in parameter files.

Look at EVENT files.

Create new event file with expression and output.

Alternatively, could look at using DERIVEDTAG files.

Create new Derived Tag file.

In order for these to work the following need to be added to startup Macros:

EventOn EventFileName

or

DerivedOn DerivedTagFileName

Good job getting things done on your own! Let me know if I can help with anything else.

Ok, I tried building a Derived Tag using the same expression: