AB SLC 5/03 Strange Behavior

Michael_W

I am working on a program that is behaving oddly and need some expert guidance. I am a novice and understand the basics of programming, but there is something I am missing. The PLC is an Allen Bradley SLC 5/03 with a Panelview attached to it for operator input / control. On the surface the program appears to operate correctly, but digging deeper there are some things that I don't understand. Below is an example, bit B3:0/15 is an input from the touchscreen to put the machine into automatic mode. When the button on the screen is pressed and all else on the rung is in proper order, the rung goes true and auto mode is latched on. If the hydraulic motor is switched off, the rung goes false, but the HMI input stays true even if the HMI cable is disconnected, so if I start the pump motor the rung goes back into automatic mode. Why would bit B3:0/15 stay high?

screen.jpg

welcome to the forum ...

there could be a lot of other explanations - but the most likely is that your "button" on the HMI is set up as something besides "Momentary" ... ("Maintained" for example) ...

do you have the software to check the button's configuration/setup in your HMI program? ...

No, I don't currently have access to the HMI programming software (working to get it). I have checked the program and this bit is only used on this one rung, no where else in the program. If the cable to the HMI were disconnected, how would the processor know how the button was programmed on the HMI?

And thank you for taking the time to reply.

If the cable is disconnected from the PLC, the HMI usually retains the last state, and the PLC will retain the last state - just the PLC won't be able to be changed, and pushing buttons on the HMI may change pages on it, so it appears to be working, but not actually.

If the cable to the HMI were disconnected, how would the processor know how the button was programmed on the HMI?