Beginning plc

Varney

I'm currently a electrical apprentice, but I have been asked to if I would be interested in Plc programming, which I am ,I would like to know what would be a good laptop to use for this? I have been asked to get a Apple MacBook pro i7 however I am wondering if there is any alternative? And what sort of spec I should look for in a laptop.

You are unlikely to find any popular PLC programming software that runs natively on a Macintosh, so a virtual Windows environment like VMWare Fusion will be required.

Any ordinary modern Windows PC has enough power to run most PLC programming and HMI visualization software. In general, Windows 7 Professional is the preferred OS.

Thank you, what should I look for in a laptop? Also I have been looking at a up envy with a i7 processor 17.3' screen with 12gb ram and 1tb of storage. Is this going to stay up to date for programming?

The RAM and storage you are describing are massive overkill for automation programming tasks.

I know that my programming laptops are going to get knocked over, spilled on, covered in dust and metal shavings and generally abused on the jobsite.

So I buy one-generation-old Dell Latitudes or Precision Mobile workstations as refurbs, and outfit them with SSDs for the main OS drive and a 500GB rotating drive in an optical bay cradle. I usually install no more than 8 GB or RAM and stick with Windows 7 32-bit most of the time.

VMWare Workstation is by far the most valuable software you can buy for automation work. The benefits of having stable revisions of software that you can revert to when something breaks or patches badly are tremendous.

I have been asked to get a Apple MacBook pro i7

Should you really be supplying a laptop, as an apprentice?
If you are going to be learning on your own, then not a problem with you supplying it yourself, but if you have to use it on the job, then the company should be supplying one.