plcs

robburke

I am new to plcs, and have been set the following questions, could anybody help me answer it, or let me know a web site which might be able to help. I cant find anything so far.

what are the various types of plc and what are there application in terms of:
a Standaloneand modular etc
b programming techniques
c cost - with and without analogue input
d Different manufacturers
What are the advantages and disadvantage of different plcs.

from the above plcs, give an explanation of a typical hardware, software, input/output, typical field devices and communication links.

describe the type of communication links and networks used in modern plc systems.

Thanks Steve,
Only doing the new ONC, but the course content is almost identical according to our lecturer.
Rob Burke

Click on "Learn PLC's" above.

Towards the bottom of the page is a link to Manufacturers that has links to the various manufacturers, many who have prices and detailed info.

check the other info for learning about plc functions, etc.

And look into the Learning PLC's video and book too.

regards.....kck

The "almost" part must be calling it "Stand-alone" instead of "unitary&quot

I do feel sorry for you, Rob, in having to do this somewhat rediculous assignment, because you don't have enough experience to understand just how rediculous it is.

The search that Steve mentioned may (or may not - there are a few somewhat misleading answers in the archives) get you an understanding of the answer to (a).

THIS LINK could get you an answer to (d) - or it may not. That is a list of ALL manufacturers; what you proably want/need is a list of the most popular. And you, as a student have no way of knowing if "ControlLogix" is a manufacturer, a PLC brand, or programming software. So just looking through the site may or may not be enough.