Factory Talk View SE - Make display appear when a bit is true

bboytaktix

Good afternoon all,

I am new to this forum but have been working in Automation for several years now. I am by no means an expert yet but I think I am on my way there (hopefully!) I browse the forum regularly for answers but I have a question I could not find the answer to.

I would like one of my Factory Talk View display windows to appear on top of all the others as long as a certain bit in my PLC is true, and close as soon as the bit becomes false. Is there any specific way to do this? It is basically a warning for operators when they are running on the plant's generator power.

thank you all in advance for your help!

Using Global connection

Try using Global connection...
Assign an integer tag to remote display which will change equal to its display value and set to 0 to free display changeable from Graphic...

Try using an Event for the tag on, and one for the tag off.
Make sure it stays on in the PLC though for a measurable portion of time.

Very true, I will try this! We actually are using an Event for another type of warning in one of our pages. Thank you for your help! I will let you know how it goes.

So my problem now is similar to this:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=52225

I looked into the 'fix' they suggested but I am not sure if it will solve my problem. Basically I want this page to appear on top of all other pages when my bit is activated in the PLC, and disappear/close when the bit is not active. The Rockwell knowledgebase says the display must always be loaded? Also I am not sure where would be the appropriate place to put the string, since the operators could open or close any of the pages at any time.

bboytaktix: