Points required for CHiller control

heng_swee

Thanks in advance. I need to programm the plc for chiller. i would like to know what are the soft points i need to create for PLC and SCADA in order the control the chiller and the relevant valves and sensors required.

Please help Thanks

Suggestion

I would suggest that you speak with the manufacturer of the chiller itself as well as the people that maintain the equipment.
I find that those two groups usually have the best insight into how a machine runs and what is best to monitor and control for smooth machine operation.
Michael

Well, it depends, doesn't it? I'm not an expert in chillers (I haven't put my hands on one for over 30 years) but they are not all the same. What kind of compressor do you have? What is the working fluid? Do you want equipment protection or just temperature control? How expensive is the equipment? (I spend more to protect a $100,000 machine than I do a $5,000 one.) How critical is the application? (I spend more to protect a blood bank than I do a cola cooler at the gas station.)

You need to do some homework, and then do some engineering. You can't reasonably expect someone to do your work for free. Even if they do, remember - you get what you pay for, or less!

What Tom said

There are numerous different chillers for numerous different systems. Is it a package chiller? Is the chiller water cooled or air cooled? Are you using water for the cooling media or Ethylene Glycol? Chilling multiple sources or one source? The list goes on and on.

You definitely have to get all of the data for this system and then design the protect and control of the chiller from there.

Regards,
Chris

heng_swee,

You would need:

(1) Start and Stop PLC Inputs, and 1 PLC Output for each Motor on the Chiller. A Chiller might have a Compressor Motor and a Fan Motor. It might also have other fans, depending on the Chiller cooling size.