PLC connected to input and output devices.

Rpowelll

Im currently studying about plcs and I was wondering if some one could shine some light and help me with these as I cannot find much information about them on the internet.

if you could help explain the operation and construction on the following it would be extremely helpful for me.

a optical absolute rotational encoder (16 bit resolution and a BISS/SSI interface.)

Micro-Switch with a roller movement (detecting components on a conveyer)

An inductive proximity device for detecting metal components.

A thermocouple for measuring a temperature range of 20 – 350 OC

Thanks for taking the time to read this and hopefully being able to shine some light on this for me.

Google some images on the optical encoder. Basically there is a set pattern in the disk and a light is shined through it. At any given point the light will only shine through a certain pattern of holes on the disk, this gives you absolute shaft angle, and this feedback will allow you to tell the PLC what angle the shaft is at and you will define how many revolutions are required to get to a certain point. One revolution of the shaft might move a belt 100mm, so you can say that if the shaft has moved 1/4 of 360 degrees (or 90 degrees), that is 1/4 of a turn or 25mm.

What you are describing as a microswitch is a type of switch that uses the "roller" to actuate a mechanical device to open then close a circuit. You would route this to an input card on the plc with a counter to determine a number of parts. The switch would rotate a little, close a set of contact and make the input to the PLC, then the counter would go up. These are pretty much a fancy type of limit switch (limit switches have a lot of information on them).