Trigger a sound file with PLC

jwoito11

Hey everyone, I'm doing a project for school and am looking for ways I can trigger a sound file using a PLC program. My first thought was maybe an output could trigger a sound file in factorytalk but I have no idea how I would do that. If anybody could help me with this, either with factorytalk, or any other way please let me know. Thank you

I have no experience with factorytalk, I'll let somebody else answer that.

It is very easy to do in LabVIEW tho. Since you are a student, you are eligible to download a free student version of LabVIEW.

My first thought was maybe an output could trigger a sound file in factorytalk but I have no idea how I would do that.
In the original RSView32, the internal PLC beeper could be triggered by setting up an Alarm point. Then under "Alarms", select "Alarm Setup", then "Severities", then under "Annunciation", select "Internal Bell".

There were several ways to call an external file, including Macros, Events, and the Command Line.

Last edited:
This can be done fairly easy with AdvancedHMI. With the MessageDisplayByValue you could even get it to speak messages.

But just to play a wav file:

- Open AdvancedHMI in Visual Studio
- Build the Solution
- From the Toolbox, Add an EthernetIPforCLXCom driver to the MainForm
- In the Properties Window, set the IPAddress to the address of the controller
- From the Toolbox, Add a DataSubsriber to the form
- In the property window, set PLCAddressValue to a tag name with the bit used to trigger the sound
- Double click the DataSubscriber so it will take you back to code
- Enter this code:

Dim player As System.Media.SoundPlayer = New System.Media.SoundPlayer("C:\Windows\Media\ir_inter.wav")
player.Play()

- Run the application and change the bit value in your PLC

You mentioned "FactoryTalk", which is a name for a wide variety of software from Rockwell Automation.