Ot: Online c programming classes

Bullzi

Lifetime Supporting Member
Happy Thursday to everyone,
I am thinking about taking some kind of course in C programming language. Is there any online courses that any of you would recommend me looking into? I haven't done any scripting programming since collage and that was Pascal. So I figure that if I brush up my programming skills it will help with scripting in HMI software that I have to do from time to time.

Thanks for the advise!!

$600 an hour + software cost I can teach ya...

On the serious side, I had C in college so I am not sure about the online part, I graduated less than a year ago and still have all my programs so I might be able help you if you find a class and get stuck on some code, you will learn to hate semicolons

I learned ANSI C through google and trial/error and I do recommend you do an online class or tutorial instead. I do recommend that you use the GNU compiler and only use compiler features that are part of ANSI C (a more stringent C standard). You can actually get the trial version of Automation Studio from B&R since it has a good C editor and uses the GNU compiler with the correct compiler options for ANSI C.

The compiler option string used by B&R is:
-fPIC -O0 -g -nostartfiles -Wall -trigraphs -fno-asm -D _DEFAULT_INCLUDES -D _SG4

I think if you just drop off -D _DEFAULT_INCLUDES -D _SG4 you should be in good shape for using the stand alone GNU compiler in ANSI C mode.

If you were in my neck of the woods I would be willing to teach you.

But if I may ask why C? C is very low level and not something I could see you using a lot. Objective C and C++ yes but not ANSI C.

Is there a specific skillset you are trying to develop? If so there may be some better languages for you.