I need experts help...

Farid

F
Hi to all,

first of all I wanna say that I am a complete self taught, I can do V.B applications,but i don't know how to control or send data through my com1 port,I am familiar with s7 200 PLCs what I am trying to do is, i want to move the value in a textbox1(in the V.B form for example) to VD10 in the s7 200 PLC, now I searched alot here in this forum but i couldnt find what i am asking for, all I need is some expert that can help me to do what I wanna do.

ps: I have ppi cable,microwin software,v.b installed on my pc and I can't afford buying some expesive stuff...so plz help me up guys.

thanks in advance.

Farid.s

OPC

Farid
You need to buy siemens OPC in order to be able to connect your VB program to your PLC .
BR

hi hesham,

Can you please explain more? what is opc and does it make communication between my pc and plc easier ?

hesham, plz if you are familiar with what i am trying to do, give more details and bear with me cause as I stated earlier, i am complete
self taught...

thanks.Farid

OPC isOLE for Process Control. It is commonly used concept
to communicate between platforms. There are many systems and
many protocols out there (many are propriatery).
It costs time and money to roll your own drivers even if you
get your hands on specification. That's why OPC is popular,
it takes away complexity but it comes at a price.
Just use search engine of your choice and type OPC and Siemens.
Here are some links to get you started:
http://www.matrikon.com/drivers/index.asp

http://www.softwaretoolbox.com/Abou...ISBU_Partnership/siemensisbu_partnership.html

http://www.merz-sw.com/opc/opc_overview.php3

hi, thanks panic mode,

that help alot, I need to spend some time on that OPC thing, and later when I have learnt what OPC is, i will try it in real world and if I needed some help, I will post again

thanks again panic mode,and to all the guys who helped.🍺

best regards.

I need your help again

hi guys,