Merging GE Proficy Projects

NevisGroup

I am new to GE Proficy (not real impressed so far).
So where along the way some changes were made to one of the HMI's using an older copy of the project. Then changes were made to the PLC with the latest copy of the project.

Now I have two projects. One with the HMI Changes and one with the PLC changes.

Is there a way to import the HMI changes into the current project?

( Last time I was at site, I gave the customer the latest project, as I always do. When I returned to site they claimed that there where no changes and that I should use my copy. Of course a couple of days into it..."oh, no we did not change the PLC, but we made a bunch of changes to the HMI's":eek:)

What software and version are you using?

With Proficy Machine Edition 8.00 and higher, you can open multiple instances. Then just copy panels and changes directly from one project to another.

I would recommend deleting panels from one project before copying to avoid conflicts. After deleting, perform a verify on the HMI.

Which PLC model? If it is a PAC systems PLC there may be an easier method.

The project file saved on the HMI includes all targets. If you have already downloaded your PLC target to the CPU, you could:

1. Restore the project from the HMI
2. Go online with the PLC target and upload from that.

Now you have the latest of both targets. This works best for projects with one PLC and one HMI.

You could also use the same procedure for Series 90 or VersaMax PLC targets, but if have added new rungs there is a risk of losing rung comments or getting the comment text attached to the wrong comment instruction.

The quickest and easiest way is to upload the PLC Target into the Project with the updated HMI especially if this is a PAC as then it will have all documentation included and will not affect the HMI.