AB PanelView Plus 7 - Can't Connect

MechE_87

I am new to using PLCs and HMIs. I have an Allen Bradley CompactLogix L2 controller and a PanelView Plus 7 HMI (both new units). I've connected to the PLC just fine but cannot connect to the PanelView 7. I've created a small program to download to the PanelView but when I go to use the transfer utility it shows a yellow question mark next to the PanelView Plus. It shows the same thing in RSLinx Classic and FactoryTalk Admistration Console. If I select it and try to download it throws an error (see image attached).

I have set the IP address of the devices to:
PC: 192.168.20.1
PLC: 192.168.21.5
HMI: 192.168.21.6 (this was set manually through the terminal interface)

I have the Ethernet from the PanelView connected to an Unmanaged switch which is connected to the PLC and the PC.

I'm not sure what to try next. If I can't connect and upload programs to the HMI I'm guessing I can't communication and pass tags back and forth between it and the PLC. Any ideas on how to fix this problem would be much appreciated.

Jonathan

Transfer_Utility_Unknown_Device.jpg

First, be aware that you're using an IP address configuration that is *usually* used with a "Class C" network where only the last octet is unique.

Your network appears to be a "Class B" network where the subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 (or something similar) that allows those addresses to communicate, but the risk of someone assuming those are Class C addresses and putting in a 255.255.255.0 subnet mask on a PLC/HMI/PC is very high.

If RSLinx Enterprise can browse the PanelView but not identify it, then it doesn't have the correct PV+ firmware identities in its hardware database. This is not EDS file related; RSLinx Enterprise will need an update or patch to actually recognize the terminal.