Stuck on a programming HSC function in AB's CCW.

AutomationTechBrian

Lifetime Supporting Member
This is my first project using Allen Bradley's new(er) CCW... and I'm stuck.

Here's the application: This is a small plastic extrusion machine. I'm programming a shear that cuts the plastic into sheets, at the desired length, with just one discrete output for the shear solenoid. I have the following hardware:

Allen Bradley Micro 850
2080-MOT-HSC card (high-speed counter for the encoder input)
Encoder, with a wheel that travels on the plastic (to measure distance)
Panelview C600, (to enter sheet size and control the shear)

Seems pretty straight-forward, right?....

1. The operator enters the inches into the PV and pushes a manual-cut button to make the first cut and activate the function block counting the distance.

2. When the distance equals the set-point, the Micro activates an output for 2-3 seconds (variable set by operator) and resets the count.

3. This continues for hours until the "stop" button is pushed.

I started by downloading and installing the UDFB, RA_HSCPlugIn. It supports mode, 0,2,4,6,8,10,12.

I'm stuck on one little problem.... I can't figure out how to get the counter to reset. Part of this is inexperience, part of this is the fact that the UDFBs that are downloaded and installed to use with the HSC don't have a reset. I could re-initialize the card when Encoder_Count = Set_Point, but that doesn't seem like a good option.

There are function blocks that utilize the built-in HSC (but not the HSC card) that have an external reset. I figure I could utilize the same relay that powers the shear solenoid (24vdc coil for the PLC, 120vac solenoid) for the reset. BUT... Those FBs are much more complex to program and I don't understand some of the fields.

Is anyone experienced enough working with HSC function in CCW to give their input? I'm going to keep experimenting, but I'm hoping someone has some good advice.

Thanks,
Brian